ALBERTA Invasive species

Alberta Invasive Species Council Board of Director Meeting Minutes

Location: Conference/Video Call (Zoom)

Date: March 14, 2022 Time: 8:40 – 9:40 am

Call to order at 8:40 am. Doug Macauley to chair AGM. Welcome and introduction of 2021 Board of Directors (15 members).

Agenda

• Nicole Kimmel motioned to accept agenda. Jeannie Suffern seconded. Motion carried.

2021 AGM Minutes

- Motion to accept the 2021 AGM minutes as circulated.
- Motion to accept by Patrick Hanington. Seconded by Nicole Kimmel. Motion carried.

Chair Report – Doug Macauley

- Board has secured Megan Evans as Executive Director for next 3 years.
- Hired one full-time staff, Paige Kuczmarski, and one seasonal, Madison Meszaros.
- Launched new website, big thanks to Director, Jeannie Suffern.
- Completed AGLC fundraising casino and 34 volunteers received \$76,000 from casino funding after many postpones.
- Delivered the Biocontrol Release Program with 41 releases with new coordinator, Paige Kuczmarski. Created best management practices guide and handout for leafy spurge.
- Promoted 'Squeal on Pigs!' through 30 media articles, several media interviews, and over 30 events.
- Revitalized Certified Weed Free Forage (WFF) program, trained 45 inspectors and confirmed 12 participating municipalities.
- Launched new EDDMapS app for Canada and EDDMaps Pro app for professionals.
- Worked with Wheatland County to revise the Weed ID Guide.
- Directly reached over 2,000 Albertans through over 30 events (virtual and in-person).
- Looking ahead to 2022:
 - o Ramp up WFF program
 - Launch aquarium and pond retailer recognition pilot project
 - o Continue Biocontrol Release Program

- Strategic plan finalization and new policy development
- o Continue to offer events, conferences, webinars and other extensive work
- Jeannie Suffern motioned to adopt chair report. Nicole Kimmel seconded. Motion carried.

Financial Report – Todd Green

- Detailed 2021 financial reports are available on the website and prepared by MVO Chartered Professional Accountants.
- Jean Breau provided Bookkeeping Services and will be retiring this year.
- 'Notice to reader' not financial audit, audit was completed by AISC Members, Rick Niwa and Carla Preachuk.
- Project deliverables have been completed and reported to the satisfaction of funders.
- Money in different accounts for different mandates.
- Patrick Hanington motioned to accept financial report. Jeannie Suffern seconded. Motion carried.

Appointment of Auditor – Doug Macauley

- Three calls for nominations as per bylaws section 15.1 of AISC Bylaws: states that 'the books must be audited at least once each year either by a duly qualified accountant or by two members of the society elected for that purpose at the Annual Meeting'
- Three calls for nomination for auditor. Danielle Grant has been nominated. Rick Niwa has been nominated. Carla Preachuk has removed herself. Both Rick and Danielle accept.

Operations Report – Megan Evans

- 5 staff and a number of contractors.
- AISC has 164 members and 26 municipal sponsors.
- Attended 34 events (in-person and virtual), reaching over 2,000 people.
- Communications: increased social media followers on all three platforms with help of boosting, quarterly newsletter sent to over 1,400 subscribers and launched AISC Holiday Greeting cards.
- Grant funding and projects:
 - ACA grant for EDDMapS and biocontrol training
 - O CAP grant for Squeal on Pigs and Weed Free Forage
 - Creative sentencing and Alberta Real Estate Foundation funding for revision of Weed ID Guide with Wheatland County
 - Creative sentencing funding to implement goat grazing and reprint GrowMeInstead
 - AEP funding to support Weed Free Forage program and to launch EDDMapS Pro and ISM Track apps
 - ISC funding to promote EDDMapS and other general awareness efforts for AIS
- Kendra Tippe motioned to accept operations report. Nicole Kimmel seconded. Motion carried.

New Business - Megan Evans

- Secured \$10,000 from DFO for pilot Aquarium and Pond Retailer Program.
- AEP Grant for extension of EDDMapS Pro.
- Applied for 4 ACA Grants (\$40,000) to support Don't Let it Loose, Squeal on Pigs, Weed Free Forage and Biocontrol programs.
- Working with Ag Canada on 3-year grant to support research for common tansy biocontrol.
- Finalize strategic plan and work on policy development.

Election of Directors – Doug Macauley and Megan Evans

• Vacancies for Board of Directors:

Vacancy	Nominee	Nominee
Academia/Individual/NGO	Patrick Hanington (standing for re-election)	
Academia/Individual/NGO	Lindsey Davidson	
Provincial government	Doug Macauley (standing for re-election)	
Provincial government	Darrell Smith	
Other government	Todd Green (standing for re-election)	
Industry	Laura Hammer	Nikola Sikolova

- Three calls for additional nominations no nominations made.
- Election for Industry Laura Hammer and Nikola Sikolova. Launched poll for 2022 AISC Members to vote. Laura Hammer was elected.

Big EDD Award - Megan Evans

• Crystal Ionson has won 2021's Big EDD Award with 54 reports.

Motion to adjourn AGM made by Todd Green. Seconded by Jeannie Suffern. Motion carried Adjourned by 9:33 am